Have you been convicted of a weapon possession charge? Then you should definitely focus on getting in touch with a leading domestic violence lawyer Lakewood who can take up your case and provide you with the best legal advisory solutions. Domestic violence cases are taken very seriously in Colorado and if you are convicted of a weapon possession charge, then things can become really complicated for you. The truth is that when you are charged with a weapon possession conviction, you would naturally claim that you are innocent and prove so to the law. However, you may inadvertently make your case difficult by maybe saying or doing things that are out of order. For this reason, it is very important that you consult a legal expert at soon as possible who can help you in managing your legal case efficiently.
Which types of firearms are forbidden?
The state laws of Colorado provide a list of different types of guns and firearms as well as other weapons that are strictly prohibited. The state laws usually prohibit the citizens from having or possessing gas guns, explosives, exploding projectiles, brass knuckles and switchblade knives and also any kind of weapon that is prohibited under the US federal law like firearms with silencers and short-barreled shotguns.
What are the criteria for weapons possession?
Anytime you choose to carry a firearm or a weapon with you, it is considered that you are in the possession of a weapon. You may have the weapon in your vehicle or in your home, the actual location of the weapon does not matter as long as it is still in your possession. Yu should remember that it is not really necessary that you carry the weapon in your pocket or hand. The prosecutor only has to show that you had domain or control over a prohibited weapon while trying to prove that you are guilty of possession.
There is however certain exceptions to the rules associated with the possession of a firearm or a weapon. Even though it is prohibited to carry certain types of weapons, it is permissible for a guard in a public exhibition or a museum to carry such a weapon. Explosives and weapons can also be used in certain commercial settings as well as in industrial and military arenas.
Penalties associated with weapons possession
The possession of a weapon is mostly considered to be a misdemeanor and in some cases a felony. The type of penalty for such a conviction depends on the specifics of an individual case. Typically the penalties for a weapons possession case may include monetary fines, probation and incarceration. The fines can be as low as $1000 and may be even more than $10000 in some cases. There can also be jail time for both misdemeanor and felony cases.
Consulting a domestic violence defense lawyer in Denver
Getting convicted for a weapon possession charge in Colorado can make things extremely difficult for you, especially if you already have a previous allegation of domestic violence. In such cases, the best thing for you to do would be to get in touch with a reputed Denver domestic violence defense lawyer who can provide you with proper guidance and enable you to avoid serious legal hassles. Having a lawyer by your side can also provide you with the peace of mind knowing that you are going to be safe at the end of the day. The best thing about consulting a domestic violence defense lawyer in Denver is that their services are quite affordable and therefore you do not have to worry about breaking your bank in order to get reliable legal counsel.